CiteFinder

Guides

Best software to see if ChatGPT mentions your company (2026)

By the CiteFinder team · November 6, 2026 · 8 min read

Disclosure: CiteFinder wrote this page and CiteFinder is one of the tools listed. We list it where it fits and say where others are better. Prices come from each vendor's own pricing page on the date shown; they change often, so check before you buy. Contact: support@citefinder.xyz.

Short answer

For a one-off check, ask ChatGPT buyer-style questions yourself and repeat each one several times. For ongoing tracking, use a tool that re-runs a fixed set of questions on a schedule. Free, budget, suite and enterprise options are compared below. Prices checked November 4 and 5, 2026.

Our guide to AI search monitoring tools for small businesses is about budget and all engines. This page is about ChatGPT and how to check. The guide on getting ChatGPT to recommend your business is about getting named; this one is about seeing whether you are.

Why one check is not enough

AI answers vary from run to run, so a single answer tells you little. Ask category questions, such as “What is the best payroll software for a ten-person company?”, not your brand name. A question that contains your name does not show whether ChatGPT names you on its own.

Check ChatGPT yourself in 10 minutes (free)

  1. Write 10 buyer questions that do not contain your brand name.
  2. Record the settings for every run: web search on or off, logged in or out, memory on or off. Use one setup for all runs. We suggest a logged-out session. The effect of each setting on answers is unconfirmed here, so we make no claim about it.
  3. Run each question 3 times. Three is our suggestion, not a researched number.
  4. Log each run in a spreadsheet with these columns: date, question, setting (search, login, memory), run 1, run 2, run 3, named (yes or no), position, cited source, who else was named.
  5. Count the runs that named you out of the total runs. The rate matters more than any one answer.

Two free ways to skip the typing: CiteFinder's free scan runs 3 questions across 7 engines, and the HubSpot AI Search Grader is a free, one-time check that asks for a form to be filled in before it shows the full report.

For context, our own published test is on the broader category: CiteFinder was named in 0 of 172 answers, October 31, 2026, on 25 questions about AI visibility tools across 7 engines. It is not a ChatGPT-only result. Details: which AI visibility tools AI recommends.

What to check when choosing software for ChatGPT

For all engines and a wider buying checklist, see the all-engine comparison and the list of sites AI cites most.

How the tools compare for ChatGPT

ToolChatGPT on entry planHow it queries ChatGPTHow often ChatGPT is re-checkedPrice (no ChatGPT-only plan listed)Other engines
CiteFinder[1]Yes, free scan and Starter[1]Official APIs with web search on[2]Weekly on paid plans[1]Free scan $0 (3 questions); Starter $49/mo[1]Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity, Copilot[1]
HubSpot AI Search Grader (free)[3]Yes, named on the page[3]Unconfirmed[3]One-time check, no re-check[3]Free, one-time (form required)[3]Perplexity, Gemini[3]
HubSpot AEO (paid)[3]Yes, named on the page[3]Unconfirmed[3]Monitors "continuously" per the page; interval unconfirmed[3]$50/mo, no HubSpot subscription required[3]Perplexity, Gemini[3]
Rankscale[4]Unconfirmed[4]Unconfirmed[4]Unconfirmed[4]Essentials $17/mo, yearly only[4]Page says 17+ engines and names none: unconfirmed[4]
Otterly.AI[5]Yes, Lite[5]Unconfirmed[5]Unconfirmed[5]Lite $29/mo, 15 prompts[5]AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot. AI Mode and Gemini ($9 each) and Claude ($29) are add-ons on Lite[5]
Ahrefs Brand Radar[6]ChatGPT listed; plan detail unconfirmed[6]Unconfirmed[6]Unconfirmed[6]Custom prompts from $50/mo (5 prompts), needs a paid Ahrefs plan[6]AI Overviews, AI Mode, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot; Claude on custom prompts: unconfirmed[6]
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit[7]Yes[7]Unconfirmed[7]Unconfirmed[7]$99/mo, 25 prompts, 1 domain[7]Google AI Mode[7]
Peec AI[8]Yes, Starter[8]Unconfirmed[8]Unconfirmed[8]Starter $95/mo, 50 prompts[8]Page lists 6 (ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini, Naver AI) but 3 are active on Starter; extra models $30/mo. Perplexity and Claude on Enterprise only[8]
Scrunch[9]Listed under core coverage; plan differences unconfirmed[9]Unconfirmed[9]Unconfirmed[9]Starter $250/mo billed annually, $300 month to month[9]Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Meta[9]
AthenaHQ[10]Yes, on the free Essential plan[10]Unconfirmed[10]Unconfirmed[10]Essential free (300 credits); Starter $295/mo[10]Essential: Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot[10]
Profound[11]Yes, in the 7-day trial[11]Unconfirmed[11]Unconfirmed[11]Trial free for 7 days; Enterprise custom[11]Trial: Gemini, Google AI Overviews. Enterprise: up to 9 engines[11]

Prices checked November 4 and 5, 2026 (dates per source below). Unconfirmed means the page named in the source list does not state it. Otterly.AI's page also shows a second, unlabelled set of prices ($25, $160, $422) next to an annual toggle; which applies is unconfirmed. Rankscale's Pro plan shows $99 and $84/mo without saying which billing term each is.

  1. [1] CiteFinder plans: citefinder.xyz/pricing (checked November 5, 2026).
  2. [2] CiteFinder method: citefinder.xyz, FAQ (“official APIs with web search turned on”).
  3. [3] HubSpot AI Search Grader and HubSpot AEO: https://www.hubspot.com/ai-search-grader (November 5, 2026).
  4. [4] Rankscale: https://www.rankscale.ai/pricing (November 5, 2026).
  5. [5] Otterly.AI: https://otterly.ai/pricing (November 4, re-checked November 5, 2026).
  6. [6] Ahrefs Brand Radar: https://ahrefs.com/brand-radar (November 4, 2026).
  7. [7] Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit: https://www.semrush.com/kb/1493-ai-toolkit (November 4, 2026).
  8. [8] Peec AI: https://peec.ai/pricing (November 4, 2026).
  9. [9] Scrunch: https://scrunch.com/pricing (November 5, 2026).
  10. [10] AthenaHQ: https://www.athenahq.ai/pricing (November 5, 2026).
  11. [11] Profound: https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing (November 5, 2026).

Other tools exist that this page does not cover, including BrightEdge, Amplitude, Adobe Brand Visibility and myvis AI. SE Visible and Conductor are covered on the all-engine comparison.

The tools, by entry price

CiteFinder

Sends your questions to the engines' official APIs with web search on, and re-checks paid plans weekly. Free scan: 3 questions, 7 engines. Starter is $49/month for 1 brand and 25 editable questions; Pro is $129/month; Agency is $499/month. Limit: 25 questions per brand, and weekly rather than daily checks. See pricing.

HubSpot AI Search Grader and HubSpot AEO

The AI Search Grader is a free, one-time check of ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini. A form comes before the full report. Whether it scores out of 100 and whether an account is needed are unconfirmed. Limit: a one-time check shows one moment, not a trend.

HubSpot AEO is the paid product: $50/month, no HubSpot subscription required. The page says it monitors your brand “continuously” across ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini; the re-check interval is unconfirmed. HubSpot AI Search Grader.

AthenaHQ

The Essential plan is free with 300 credits and covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot. Starter is $295/month with 3,600 credits and 11 engines. Limit: the step from free to paid is large. CiteFinder vs AthenaHQ.

Rankscale

Essentials is $17/month, billed yearly only, with 120 credits. The page lists “17+” engines without naming them, so whether ChatGPT is on Essentials is unconfirmed. Pro shows $99 and $84/month without saying which term each is. Limit: the unclear plan details. CiteFinder vs Rankscale.

Otterly.AI

Lite is $29/month for 15 prompts, covering ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot. AI Mode and Gemini ($9 each) and Claude ($29) are add-ons. A free trial is offered; its length is not stated. Limit: 15 prompts on Lite. CiteFinder vs Otterly.AI.

Ahrefs Brand Radar

Custom prompt tracking starts at $50/month for 5 prompts and 150 checks a month, on top of a paid Ahrefs plan (Lite or higher). The AI Visibility Index starts at $199/month. Limit: the Ahrefs plan price is extra. CiteFinder vs Ahrefs Brand Radar.

Peec AI

Starter is $95/month for 50 prompts. The page lists 6 models (ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI), but only 3 are active on Starter; extra models cost $30/month. A free trial is offered; its length is not stated. Limit: Perplexity and Claude are Enterprise only. CiteFinder vs Peec AI.

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

$99/month for 25 prompts and 1 domain. The page names ChatGPT and Google AI Mode for prompt tracking. No free trial. Limit: two engines named, and the price is highest of the budget group. It suits teams already on Semrush. CiteFinder vs Semrush.

Scrunch

Starter is $250/month billed annually, or $300 month to month, with 350 custom prompts. A 7-day Starter trial needs no card. ChatGPT is listed under core coverage. Limit: the price is high if you only want to check ChatGPT. CiteFinder vs Scrunch.

Profound

A free trial gives 50 prompts a day for 7 days on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Enterprise is custom, with up to 9 answer engines. Limit: no price is published for Enterprise. CiteFinder vs Profound.

Which to pick if you only care about ChatGPT

For budget and all-engine questions, see AI search monitoring tools for small businesses.

If ChatGPT does not name you

Start with how to get ChatGPT to recommend your business. You can also see what a CiteFinder report looks like in the sample report.

Questions

How can I see if ChatGPT mentions my company for free?

Ask ChatGPT 10 buyer questions that do not contain your brand name, run each 3 times, and count how often you are named. To skip the typing, CiteFinder's free scan checks 3 questions across 7 engines. The HubSpot AI Search Grader is a free one-time check that needs a form. Otterly.AI offers a free trial, Profound a 7-day trial, and AthenaHQ has a free plan.

Why does ChatGPT give different answers each time?

AI answers vary from run to run. That is why one answer proves little: repeat each question and track the rate at which you are named, ideally week over week.

Do I need software, or is checking by hand enough?

By hand is enough for a snapshot. Software is worth it when you want a weekly trend, because it re-runs the same questions for you.

Does tracking ChatGPT also cover Gemini, Claude and Google AI?

It depends on the tool. As of November 2026, CiteFinder covers 7 engines on every plan, Otterly.AI 4 on Lite plus add-ons, Peec AI 3 active on Starter (6 listed; extra models $30/month; without Claude or Perplexity), and AthenaHQ's free plan 5. The HubSpot AI Search Grader covers ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini.

What is the lowest entry price among the tools on this page, including free plans?

As of November 5, 2026, in ascending order: $0 for the CiteFinder free scan (3 questions, one scan), the HubSpot AI Search Grader (one-time, form required) and AthenaHQ Essential (300 credits). Then Rankscale Essentials at $17/month (yearly only; ChatGPT inclusion is not stated on its page), Otterly.AI Lite at $29/month, CiteFinder Starter at $49/month, and HubSpot AEO at $50/month. Ahrefs custom prompts start at $50/month but need a paid Ahrefs plan on top. Then Peec AI Starter at $95/month and the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit at $99/month. Profound is not ranked: its trial is time-limited and its Enterprise price is custom. This is the lowest among the tools on this page, not the cheapest overall.

More guides

See whether AI recommends your brand

Free scan, no signup: 3 buyer questions across 7 AI engines, with the rivals AI names instead of you.

Run a free scan
Best software to see if ChatGPT mentions your company (2026)